ABB Nominates Four New Board Members

ZURICH, Switzerland — ABB has nominated four new members for election to its Board of Directors. With this move, the Board of Directors will strengthen its expertise in areas related to the shift in the center of gravity of the company’s activities. The nominees all have leadership roles in global companies and collectively bring extensive international experience in a broad range of industries. The shareholders will vote on all nominations at the company’s next annual general meeting (AGM) on April 21, 2016.

“I am delighted to present our shareholders with such high-caliber candidates for election to the Board,” said Peter Voser, Chairman of ABB’s Board of Directors. “Our four nominees have a tremendous range of experience, including in areas we are strengthening under our Next Level strategy, such as software, service and project management, and in emerging markets where we continue to see prospects for profitable growth.”

The nominees are:

  • Frederico Fleury Curado, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Brazilian aircraft manufacturer Embraer since 2007. Curado has been instrumental in the international expansion of Embraer, shaping the company’s global footprint and product portfolio. He has broad functional experience ranging from manufacturing, quality management, operational excellence, to technology and commercial. He is a board member of Iochpe-Maxion in Brazil and Transocean in Switzerland.
  • Robyn Denholm, Chief Financial Officer (CFO) of Silicon Valley-based Juniper Networks since 2007 and Chief Operating Officer since 2013. Denholm has also worked at Sun Microsystems, Toyota and Arthur Andersen, giving her broad industry background with experience in the audit, automotive, computer systems/software and networking equipment industries. She is a board member of Tesla Motors and previously served on the board of Echelon in the US.
  • David Meline, CFO of the California-based global biotechnology company Amgen since 2014. Prior to joining Amgen, Meline was CFO at 3M from 2008 to 2014. With degrees in both Mechanical Engineering and Economics, he began his career as an engineer at AT&T and worked for more than 20 years at General Motors in finance and engineering roles in Brazil, Kenya, Korea, Singapore, Switzerland and the US. He is a board member of TRW Automotive in the US.
  • Satish Pai, Deputy Managing Director, Hindalco Industries Ltd., an industry leader in aluminium and copper, and the metals company of the $41 billion Aditya Birla Group. Pai joined Hindalco in 2013 from Schlumberger, the oil and gas services company, where he acquired broad experience in operations and technology management. During his 28 years with Schlumberger, Pai held roles in engineering, R&D, services and project management in France, Russia, Thailand, the UK, US and United Arab Emirates. Pai is currently in charge of Hindalco’s operations in India and is a board member of Novelis Inc. in the US.

Long-time Board member Roger Agnelli has decided not to stand for reelection. Agnelli, who is the former President and CEO of Vale and founding partner and CEO of AGN Holding in Brazil, joined the Board in 2002 and is a member of its Finance, Audit and Compliance Committee. 

“Roger joined ABB’s Board at a critical time for the company and has been instrumental in the Board’s drive to strengthen ABB’s foundations and create the conditions for renewed growth,” said Voser. “He has been a great advocate of our Next Level strategy, and I am honored to have had the opportunity to work with him.”

The election of ABB’s nominees would bring the number of Board members from eight today to 11.


Tagged with ,

Comment on the story

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *