Siemens AG Announces Changes in Supervisory Board

Munich—Gerd von Brandenstein, Peter Gruss and Berthold Huber have announced that they will resign from the Supervisory Board of Siemens AG, effective the end of the Annual Shareholders’ Meeting on January 27, 2015. As of the spring of 2015, Gruss will head the new Siemens Technology & Innovation Council (STIC) that is being established by Siemens’ Managing Board. The council will closely support the Managing Board in systematically analyzing and monitoring strategic topics in the areas of technology and innovation.

At its meeting today, the Supervisory Board decided to propose to the 2015 Annual Shareholders’ Meeting that Nathalie von Siemens and Norbert Reithofer be elected to succeed the departing shareholder representatives. The employee representatives have requested that Reinhard Hahn be nominated to succeed Huber by court appointment. At today’s meeting, Birgit Steinborn, Chairwoman of the Central Works Council of Siemens AG, was elected to succeed Huber as Deputy Chairperson of the Supervisory Board. In addition, Jürgen Kerner will join the Chairman’s Committee of the Supervisory Board as an employee representative. Both changes will take effect at the end of the Annual Shareholders’ Meeting on January 27, 2015.

“The two candidates we’ll be nominating for election to the open shareholder representative positions by the Annual Shareholders’ Meeting in January 2015 will, like their predecessors, bring extensive expertise and experience to the Supervisory Board. Their nomination will also be a step toward ensuring a continued balance in the Board’s expertise and age structure. On behalf of the Supervisory Board, I’d like to thank the departing Supervisory Board members for their distinguished service to the company and for their many years of loyal cooperation,” said Gerhard Cromme, Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Siemens AG. Cromme was particularly pleased that Gruss would be supporting the company with his wide-ranging experience and expertise even more intensively at another position in the future.

Nathalie von Siemens is Managing Director and Spokesperson of the Board of Siemens Stiftung. Norbert Reithofer is Chairman of the Board of Management of BMW AG.

Tagged with

Comment on the story

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *